Arsenal Headlines

Arsenal now facing strong decision over non-home grown stars

Now that the transfer window has closed, Arsenal will be shortly required to submit their 25 man squad list for the Premier League season.

The rules state that: Each squad contains no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the “Home Grown Player” (HGP) criteria.

The rest of the squad, up to a total of 25 players, must be “Home Grown”.

There’s also an additional list of each club’s registered Under-21 players who are eligible over and above the squad limit of 25 players.

Arsenal currently have 19 non-homegrown players, meaning that, as it stands, two will have to be left out of the squad submitted to the Premier League.

Those 19 are:

Bernd Leno
Alex Runarsson
Cedric Soares
David Luiz
Sead Kolasinac
Pablo Mari
Shkodran Mustafi
Kieran Tierney
Dani Ceballos
Granit Xhaka
Mohamed Elneny
Thomas Partey
Nicolas Pepe
Mesut Ozil
Alexandre Lacazette
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

So, in the absence of further outgoings, Mikel Arteta is going to have to disappoint two from that list. It will be very interesting to see who he selects, particularly if it’s based on involvement so far this season.

The transfer window between Premier League clubs and EFL clubs remains open until October 16th, but the likelihood of a senior, non-homegrown player dropping down to that level remains remote.

Arsenal are also required to submit their squad list by the end of today for the UEFA Europa League group stages. The rules there state that the ‘A list’ can contain a maximum of 25 players, two of whom must be goalkeepers. There are a minimum of eight places reserved exclusively for ‘locally trained players’. If a club have fewer than eight locally trained players in their squad, then the maximum number of players on List A is reduced accordingly.

So, plenty of thinking for Mikel Arteta to do, and there might be one or two anxious players in the current squad.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button